Geothermal Chiller

6 posts / 0 new
Last post

I've heard something about how Trace can now incorporate idf files into it's calculations for a geothermal loop. Does anybody know how to do this?

Tommy's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-08-11
Reputation: 202

Yes, Mr. Fett, It is definitely, as you said "loop data".

Bob's picture
Bob
Offline
eQUEST UserLEED AP BD+CTRACE 700 User
Joined: 2010-06-30
Reputation: 475

Just to put in $0.02. Once you are ready, use the GT1 file (created by Trace700) to import into the GLHEPro software. But here's the catch, I believe the GT1 data is Geothermal loop data, not individual HP data. GLHEPro allows you to input one or the other (Plant or equipment). The GT1 data should be entered in as 'plant' information. Then export an .idf file from GLHEPro to import into the Trace700. Simply said, it is a interative process that saves you time, and gives more accurate results if used correctly.

Be Sustainable -- Never let today use up tomorrow!.

Bobba_Fett's picture
Offline
eQUEST UserLEED EA Credit 1 TrainingTRACE 700 User
Joined: 2010-10-01
Reputation: 229

That's a pretty nice new feature!

Joe's picture
Joe
Offline
eQUEST UserTRACE 700 User
Joined: 1969-12-31
Reputation: 400

You are correct. Trace has the ability to import vertical bore files exported from GLHEpro.

 

  1. Obtain the .idf file
  2. rename the .idf file so that it is Tracefilename.geo.idf and put it in the same folder as the .trc you are working on
  3. When in Trace, model anything that rejects heat to the ground
  4. Go to Cooling equipment--->Controls----> Plant controls, and select "vertical bore" for the heat rejection type 
  5. You  should be able to select the exported file, and finish entering your options.

Pretty advanced models at that point. So make sure you got all the adequate data or all this extra work may not increase any accuracy.

Bob's picture
Bob
Offline
eQUEST UserLEED AP BD+CTRACE 700 User
Joined: 2010-06-30
Reputation: 475

According to Trace700 help menu, you need to paste the GHLEPro file into the same directory as your Projname.TRC file...name the GHLEPro file the same as your Projname.geo.idf. <-note the "geo.idf".  The TRC file will recognize the file and use the data for its pupose when you select "Verticle Bore" make sure it's for the same number of years 1yr or 10yr. 10yrs is the time for the ground to become stable with Qin and Qout accoridng to GHLEPro.

Be Sustainable -- Never let today use up tomorrow!.

Bobba_Fett's picture
Offline
eQUEST UserLEED EA Credit 1 TrainingTRACE 700 User
Joined: 2010-10-01
Reputation: 229